Flyfishing: a bridge to our roots

Obliged to stay away from Tuscia for a few weeks – It wasn’t for fishing – helas!  – I grabbed the chance to pay a couple of visits to local flyangling clubs: one in Siena and one in Piacenza, where I had been asked to attend an evening meeting  talking about the history of flyfishing, a subject I am really fond of.

In Siena, I had a nice talk – with slides – about flyfishing from the deepest roots to the so-called “modern age” and we touched all the most important milestones, from the ancient Chinese dynasties to Halford and Ritz passing through Aeliano, the Egyptians, Cotton, De Boisset… and many other names who contributed to the spreading of our beloved hobby.

Piacenza was a little different matter. The members of the club were mainly interested in Charles Ritz and I was glad to show slides about this great angler and his history, with references to the places he mentioned in his works and which I was lucky enough to visit and appreciate during a summer holiday, many years ago.

Members of “Mosca Club Piacenza” attending the evening talk about Charles Ritz.

On that occasion, I drove for miles with a camping tent and touched most of those villages and towns made famous in by Ritz, Sinclair, de Boisset… just to mention a few. The subject attracted the interest of the members of the club who showed appreciation for the slides and the description of this great angler’s life.

Questions were endless and we reached the peak of night very quickly… and when at last I had a look at the clock, it was really time to go to the hotel, where I was glad to meet a soft and warm bed.

In both cases, I had a really warm welcome and I am in debt with those friends who gave me the chance to share part of my knowledge with them, confirming that flyfishing is not confined to a the banks of a river.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

